Skip to content

Waffle House gave me a dollar to eat hair…

May 18, 2010

It wasn’t like we walked in the door and they said HEY WE’LL GIVE YOU A DOLLAR TO EAT SOME HAIR.

There was a hair in my grits. It happens. 
I ordered two eggs scrambled, grits, country ham and raisin toast. I love country ham, but don’t eat it often, unless I feel like my daily sodium intake has dropped to under 4,000 mgs.

She brought all of Cash’s food and my eggs and toast on a platter with a bowl of grits. You never know if the grits will be in a bowl or on the platter. It’s exciting.

I’d really rather they be in a bowl because I like to position my food strategically.

This is NOT great. 

 The toast is touching the grits.  And almost touching the eggs.  Grits and eggs can touch.  Toast must touch nothing.  This is not an actual photo of the actual event last Saturday.  This is a photo from my birthday, April 29.

So I get eggs and toast on a platter and bowl of grits, but no ham.  Well, I can’t eat ANYTHING until I have EVERYTHING.   I decided to go ahead and move the toast out of grit-shot and pour the grits out of the bowl onto the platter while I wait for the elusive ham.

Well, lo and behold, there is a hair left clinging to the inside of the bowl.  Ick.  Not really that big of a deal, I guess, but the visual is a bit much.  So I turn the bowl where I can’t see the hair and push my grits around on the platter looking for other hairs.  

I needed something to do while I waited on my ham other than watching Cash eat a cheese steak Texas toast sandwich that looked like the best thing I had ever seen in my life.

I decide to go out on a limb and have a bite of eggs and a bite of grits.  Can’t go to the toast without the ham.  Sorry.

Anyway, there is another hair in the grits.  Cash jumps in and does the manly man thing and signals the hostess/manager person.  HAIR IN GRITS!!

She asks if I would like another bowl of grits.  No, I would like a fresh platter.  As soon as she takes it away, Mr. Ham shows up.  And now I just have ham.  And waitress asks if everything is okay.  Um, no.  Hair in grits.  No food now except Mr. Ham.

STOP WITH THE SADISTIC MIND GAMES!!!

Fresh platter of eggs, grits and toast arrives shortly and manager lady grabs our check and announces proudly “I’m taking 10% off of your bill!!”

Which was about $1.00.

So Waffle House gave me a dollar to eat some hair. 

Nice work if you can get it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 3:18 am

    At least they did not charge you an extra dollar for the added protein!

  2. May 21, 2010 4:17 pm

    Lucky! That's more than I ever got from Waffle House!

  3. Trisha Monroe Campbell permalink
    October 16, 2010 10:13 am

    I love this since I can so relate to the grits not touching the toast. It makes the toast soggy. And we got a $15.00 gift certificate from Piccadilly’s when my husband fell and broke his nose in their bathroom. We decided not to sue because he is prone to falling…brain cancer…and because Picadilly is on their way out anyway and we don’t want to cause them to go out of business.

  4. Eddie Levi Lee permalink
    May 9, 2012 12:50 am

    Well, technically, you didn’t eat the hair. They paid you a dollar to notice the hair. You were rewarded for your powers of observation. Is this a great country, or what?

Leave a comment